Monday, November 26, 2012

GFGS (Grey for Grey Sake)

So everyone over at Chris Creamer's Sports Logos forum is bitching about me consistently bitching about Grey facemasks on teams that have no grey or little to no grey in their uniform. So I have decided to bitch about this on my own damn site. Therefore if you love grey facemasks then you might as well leave this page immediately.

What is my definition of GFGS? It is when a college or pro football team updates their uniform and introduces a grey facemask for no apparent reason. Take the Buffalo Bills as an example, they updated their uniforms to a beautiful set, but they used a grey facemask that destroys the whole look of the helmet because they do not you grey anywhere else on their uniform.

New Bills Uniform (No grey except on the helmet)

Previous Bills Uniform (The white facemask works because they wear white)

Old School Uniform (Notice the Blue Facemask?)

The Bills are the not the only criminals at ruining a perfect uniform in the NFL. The next team that comes to mind is the San Francisco 49ers. If they had updated their new uniform with this helmet it would have been a great looking uniform. The next offenders to this crime is the Cleveland Browns. Why they removed the white facemasks is a mystery that baffles me every time I see them play. One of the worst offenders has to be the Arizona Cardinals. When they finally changed their uniform to a more modern design, they did the worst thing possible and kept a grey facemask when a red facemask would have been the cherry on the sundae.

There are teams in the NFL that does do the grey facemask justice and they include the Dallas Cowboys.  New York Giants and the Oakland Raiders as these teams use grey properly to match the silver/grey in the rest of their uniform.

Stay tuned for more to come!


















Monday, October 1, 2012

Bring on the CHAMPS!

The 2012 NCAA Basketball Champions held a photo shoot to introduce the new players for the 2012/2013 season.

Alex Poythress, left, Julius Mays, Willie Cauley-Stein, Nerlens Noel, and Archie Goodwin

Alex Poythress

Julius Mays

Nerlens Noel








Monday Morning Review


Last night was a great night for Fall Premiere's as Dexter led the way in terms of awesomeness!

666 Park Avenue (ABC) - 10:00pm

Boardwalk Empire (HBO) - 9:00pm - Rating 8.5
Episode - Bone for Tuna

Dexter (SHOW) - 9:00pm - Rating 9.9
Episode - Are You...? What an amazing episode that brought Dexter back from the not-so outstanding past two seasons. I was on the edge of my seat during the whole episode wondering if Dexter would be able to hide his Dark Passenger from Deb as she was questioning him every time he turned around. The ending may have been as great as the season finale from Season 4, it was just remarkable.

Hell on Wheels (AMC) - 9:00pm - Rating 8.5

Homeland (SHOW) - 10:00pm - Rating 9.0

Once Upon A Time (ABC) - 8:00pm - Rating 8.0

Revenge (ABC) - 9:00pm - Rating 7.5

The Amazing Race (CBS) - 8:00pm - Rating 9.5












Ratings are based on a scale of 1 to 10

Thursday, September 27, 2012

Thursday Night Premiere's & Lineup

Tonight several show are premiering for the new season. I am sure some of the show tonight are new from NBC, but since 95% of their shows suck, I will not be covering them.

Elementary - CBS - 10:00pm (New Series)

Glee - FOX - 9:00pm (Episode Three)

Grey's Anatomy - ABC - 9:00pm (Season Premiere)

Last Resort - ABC - 8:00pm (Series Premiere)

Person on Interest - CBS - 9:00pm (Season Premiere)

The Big Bang Theory - CBS - 8:00pm (Season Premiere)

Two and a Half Men - CBS - 8:30pm (2nd Season Premiere w/o Charlie)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Premiering in 2 Weeks

Beauty and the Beast - CW - 9:00pm (Series Premiere) Projected Cancellation

The Vampire Diaries - CW - 8:00pm (Season Premiere)



Wednesday, September 26, 2012

Mumford and Sons - Lyrics

If you are a fan of music like me, then you probably like to know the lyrics to songs. Therefore I have created a page dedicated to the lyrics of the new album Babel from Mumford and Sons. You can find that page to the right of this post or go here.

Music Releases - Sept. 25 - Official Ratings


Green Day (September 25th)
Stars: 4.8 out of 5 Stars (Feels like listening to an updated version of Dookie)

Mumford & Sons (September 25th)
Stars: 5 out of 5 Stars (This is an amazing album and one of the best sophomore performances of all time)

No Doubt (September 25th)
Stars: 2.0 out of 5 Stars (This does not feel like a No Doubt album to me, just another pop singer/band playing music for top 40 radio)

Tuesday, September 25, 2012

Monday Night TV Shows Rankings

Last night there were six fall premieres and I would like to rank each show on what I thought.


2 Broke Girls - 9:00pm CBS (season premiere) - 
Good episode out of the gate. I really like this raunchy comedy because they do not care about being politically correct as they thrown jokes at everyone. 7 out of 10

Alphas - 8:00pm SyFy
I did not have a chance to watch the episode yet. 

Bones - 8:00pm FOX
Love this show and glad it is back. 8 out of 10. 

Castle - 10:00pm ABC (season premiere)
The show that I was looking forward to the most and I was not disappointed. This episode gave the audience insight on Beckett's mother and showed us what dating Castle is going to be like in the first several episodes. 10 out of 10

Hawaii Five-O - 10:00pm CBS (season premiere)
Love the show and the action. 7 out of 10

How I Met Your Mother - 8:00pm CBS (season premiere)
This is a great show ONLY when Barney is featured the most in the episode. Ted is so annoying that I found myself hitting the fast forward button a lot, however this episode did show us that this is the beginning of the end and soon we may finally know who Ted will marry. 7 out of 10. 
 
Mike and Molly - 9:30pm CBS (season premiere)
This show is hit or miss for me and last night was a small hit. 6 out of 10

Mob Doctor - 9:00pm FOX 
Sucks! 1 out 10. 

Partners - 8:30pm CBS (season premiere)
I watched 10 minutes of this show and deleted it from my DVR. The comedy jokes are lame and the show overall sucks. I just hope CBS has shows completed of Rules of Engagement as it is a lot better than this show.  0 out of 10

Revolution - 10:00pm NBC
NBC has found a hit to replace Chuck and Heroes, but the only bad thing is how long will it last? 7 out of 10

The Voice - 8:00pm NBC 
Blake Shelton! He is funny, he can sing and he knows good talent. 8 out of 10.

Warehouse 13
I LOVE this series and although I love that this season was given 20 episodes it stinks knowing that after next weeks episode the show will not be back on until April. But if that is the price we have to pay for a fantastic show then I can bear it. 8 out of 10. 

Monday, September 24, 2012

Monday Night Premiere's - Part II

Tonight officially kicks off the Fall TV season as all the major networks start their fall schedule. Out of all the show tonight, I am most looking forward to the return of Castle and him and Beckett finally made the jump from partners to PARTNERS. It will be interesting to see how they both react to finally being a couple and whether or not they last.

The second most hyped show for me is How I Met Your Mother due to the show nearing its end and the audience soon realizing who Ted's wife is in the end. Although it might not happen this season, I feel that if it does not, then we will know by next year. Now here is the rest of the shows scheduled for tonight.

2 Broke Girls - 9:00pm CBS (season premiere)
Alphas - 8:00pm SyFy
Bones - 8:00pm FOX
Castle - 10:00pm ABC (season premiere)
Hawaii Five-O - 10:00pm CBS (season premiere)
How I Met Your Mother - 8:00pm CBS (season premiere)
Mike and Molly - 9:30pm CBS (season premiere)
Mob Doctor - 9:00pm FOX
Partners - 8:30pm CBS (season premiere)
Revolution - 10:00pm NBC
The Voice - 8:00pm NBC
Warehouse 13



Friday, September 21, 2012

New Albums Fall 2012

For the music lovers like me there are several news albums coming out this fall (some have been released). This list will not detail every new album, as it will only highlight those that interest me. I hope you enjoy.

Bloc Party (August 21st)
Stars: 2 out of 5 Stars

The Killers (September 4th)
Stars: 3.5 out of 5 Stars

Matchbox Twenty (September 4th)
Stars: 3.5 out of 5 Stars

The Avett Brothers (September 11th)
Stars: 4.5 out of 5 Stars

Pet Shop Boys (September 11th)
Stars: 2 out of 5 Stars

Band of Horses (September 18th)
Stars: 4 out of 5 Stars

Green Day (September 25th)
Stars: 4.5 out of 5 Stars

Mumford & Sons (September 25th)
Stars: 5 out of 5 Stars (Based on the first single)

No Doubt (September 25th)
Stars: 2.5 out of 5 Stars

Muse (October 2nd)


Jason Aldean (October 16th)


Kiss (October 16th)


Aerosmith (November 6th)


Green Day (November 13th)


Green Day (January 15th)

Unknown Release Dates

U2
Franz Ferdinand
Phoenix

Thursday, September 20, 2012

Wenesday Night Premiere

My favorite reality TV show returned last night with a bang, Survivor. This year they are in the Philippines with fifteen new cast members and three returning players divided into three tribes of six people. The three returning cast members are former players who had to leave the game due to injury and they are:

Jonathan Penner:

Russell Swan:



Mike Skupin:


There are two celebrities in the mix as well: 

Better Known as: 



and

 

better known as: 

 

Monday, September 17, 2012

Monday Night Premieres

8:00 - 9:00pm - FOX


Review:

Bones with blond hair was different, but the gang is back together and the episode was great. The only bad thing I can say about the episode is the new theme song, it stinks. The song is a new remix of the existing theme song expect this one is bad, and not in a good way. 9/10 Stars


9:00 - 10:00pm - FOX (Avoid because this will be cancelled)

Review:

I watched about 20 minutes of this new show and that is all I am going to watch. The acting is not that great and I can see the show being cancelled about as fast as Lone Star. 1/10 Stars

10:00 - 11:00pm - NBC (The best looking new show of the season)

Review:

After watching the episode I am left wondering if this version of Jericho will last longer than the first version. This show may have promise, but the plot is so similar to Jericho that is may fail. I hope not, because I hated when Jericho was cancelled. 7/10 Stars

8:00 - 11:00pm - CMA Country Music Festival





This was by far the best show on TV last night. The four-day event back in June was taped and the best artists were picked to be on the show last night. I would give it 10/10 Stars. 


Joker Phllips is a "JOKE"

#FireJoker

If you know me personally, then you would know that I did not like when Joker Phillips was named the head coach of the Kentucky Wildcats once Rich Brooks retired. I have always stated that in order for the Wildcats to compete in the SEC, then they needed to bring in a high-profile coach. But instead of conducting several interviews with the best candidates on the market, Mitch Barnhardt handed the keys to the program over to a unproven assistant head coach in 2008.

Fast Forward 4 years ================>

It is the start of the 2012 season and Kentucky is coming off of one of the worst offensive seasons ever. The previous year, the Wildcats ranked 118 out of 120 teams in the Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS).  The defense ranked 86th which was not too bad considering the team is in the SEC. The teams overall record was 5-7 (2-6 in the SEC). The season started off bad when we only beat WKU 14-3, a game that should have been a blow out because in 2010, the score was 63-28. Then we beat Central Michigan (MAC), then lost 4 consecutive games to Louisville (Big East), Florida (SEC), LSU (SEC) and South Carolina (SEC). The we won a game against lowly Jacksonville State (FCS School), lost again to Miss. State (SEC), won versus Ole Miss (SEC), lost two in a row to Vandy (SEC) and Georgia (SEC) and finally after 26 years we beat Tennessee (SEC)*.

* Tennessee had it worst offensive season in over 20 years and this win save Joker for another year.

The 2012 schedule has not been good through three weeks for the Wildcats, the first game of the year saw the Wildcats traveling to the newly renovated Papa John's Cardinal Stadium for face a Louisville Cardinal team ranked in the Top 25. The final score of the game was Louisville 32 - Kentucky 14 and the game was not really that close as the Cards pulled their starting QB in the 3rd quarter to take it easy on the lowly Wildcats.

The Wildcats then went home to face Kent State Golden Flashes and came out of the game with a 47-14 win that say the offense play like that have not played since Rich Brooks was the coach. The fans were thrilled and most of them say a ray of light at the end of the tunnel for Joker. But the following week would remind the fans that no matter how much you shine a turd, it is still a turd.

September 15, 2012 - WKU vs Kentucky at Commonwealth Stadium
The game starts and there is a foul mood in the air. Max Smith (QB) throws three first half interceptions and WKU takes advantage by going up 17-0.
Kentucky scores 10 points in the second quarter to go to halftime down 17-10.
The Wildcat fans feel like they have momentum on their side.
WKU receives the second half kickoff and marches down the field to score and go up 24-10. Kentucky returned the favor and scored to bring the tally to 24-17.
Then with 24 seconds to go in the game, Kentucky scores again to tie the game at 24-24 and we are going to overtime.
Overtime
WKU wins the toss and elects to play defense.
Kentucky scores on an 11 yard George run to go up 31-24.
WKU gets the ball and scores on a 2 yard Andrews run to make the score 31-30.
WKU lines up to go for the 2-point conversion...
Timeout WKU
The coaches talk and they send the offense back on the field.

The snap and Jakes (QB) pitches the ball to the right to  Andrews (RB) who then toss the ball laterally back to Jakes who then runs into the endzone and wins the game. WKU 32-UK 31. The WORST LOSS in the history of the Kentucky Wildcat Football program and Joker Phillips must be fired!

Video and Photos from game:
Video of the 2-pt play to win the game.

Joker:





Newspaper Articles

John Clay's Sidelines
Courier-Journal
Kentucky Sports






Tuesday, September 11, 2012

Jerry Lawler

Jerry Lawler is one of the greatest wrestlers in the history of wrestling. Last nigh on WWE Raw, Lawler had a heart attack on the show and he is currently in stable condition. Therefore, today, I have decided to honor one of the greats of all time in photos.

Dundee and Lawler
Lawler Piledriving Andy Kaufman
Lawler vs Austin Idol
The King




Monday, September 10, 2012

Modern vs Traditional Uniform Fan - What Am I?

Over the course of the last 5 years I have considered myself to be a modern uniform enthusiast, but today I decided to rank the Home uniforms for each NFL team by division, then I selected the Top 8 worst looks and the Top 8 best looks and the results were not what I had expected. Therefore, my question to myself and anyone who reads this blog is simply; Would I be considered a modern or traditional uniform fan?

Based on the list I created below, I would have thought that my Top 8 would have been more modern designs, but it turns out that both the Best and Worst looks are all Traditional designs. So I my question still remains, what type of fan am I?



Sunday, August 19, 2012

NCAA Football Uniforms

Please check out my new page, NCAA FOOTBALL UNIFORMS 2012! I have rated some of the new uniforms for the 2012 season. My favorite are below:



Missouri Tigers:

Rutgers Scarlet Knights